Howard House Demolition

March 14, 2008 was a sad day in Cochran.  The Mullis Howard house was demolished.  It was built in 1911-1912, and my parents & I actually rented it for a year (89-90) when we were building their current house.  It was sad to see it go, and unreal at the same time. I stripped all of the doors, stairs, banisters, and everything else I could get that morning to hopefully use as props one day.  I even got the barn door, that I just have to hang outside for a backdrop.  I was there most of the day watching it come down.  ABC Demolition from Forsyth was the company who did the demolition, and they were very easy going and friendly.  They could have easily told us to stay away from the house, but they let us get what we could salvage.  They also held off the final knocking down of the house until i could get back from a photoshoot, and I am deeply grateful.  You can see all of the demolition pictures here:  http://www.photoreflect.com/pr3/thumbpage.aspx?e=3631180

 Back in November, before the demolition:

As it was coming down:

5 thoughts on “Howard House Demolition

  1. A letter to the Georgia Historical Society
    501 Whitaker Street
    Savannah, GA 31401

    Dear Dr. Groce:

    I recently returned to my home town of Cochran, Ga and was confronted by a vacant lot where the Mullis – Howard house had stood. I recall in years past seeing a sign in front of the house.. “future home of city Hall.” I regrettably assumed the property was to be preserved by the city of Cochran. Below is an article from the Macon Telegraph. I am deeply saddened the city and county government and community of Cochran has lost this distinguished old friend. I continue to own a family farm in the area and would have gladly contributed time and money towards saving this landmark. I have to believe there are many others who would have done the same.

    I am requesting the Georgia Historical Society to conduct an architectural review to document what course of events led to the destruction of the Mullis- Howard landmark. I understand the fiscal challenges faced by small town communities. However, the destruction of the Mullis- Howard house was ill advised and short sighted. The loss to the tourism industry is obvious. Future generations of this small community will have a “Walgreen’s” to bear witness to the folly of its government. I sincerely hope the Historical Society will document specifically how and why this has happened. Local governments need to be supported in preserving existing landmarks and called to answer when they fail to act in the best interest of the greater good .

    Thank you

    Frank Brown
    Cochran, Ga 31014

  2. Pingback: 2010 in review | My Art, My Life….

Leave a Reply

