Modern Memorial Songs

 

One of the few services I still offer after closing my studio is memorial slideshows for a local funeral home.  The one thing that I notice is a lack of modern songs used in memorial slideshows and funerals.  I know this is largely in part due to the fact that I live in central Georgia where old-time country songs rein supreme, but I wanted to create a list for anyone searching for more modern songs to use. It’s morbid, but I tend to analyze every song to see if it would fit a slideshow and keep it tucked away for a future moment. It’s also to make sure that “When I Get Where I’m Going” and “Go Rest High” are not played at my own funeral. Here is a list with YouTube links to the songs.  Buy the songs via Amazon or iTunes, but if you can’t find the same version you find on YouTube, you can use snipmp3.com to pull the audio from a YouTube video.

Snow Patrol – Run (Live)

Pearl Jam – Just Breathe

Aloe Blacc – Wake Me Up (Acoustic)

Switchfoot – Yesterdays

Jimmy Eat World – Hear You Me

Playing For Change – Stand By Me

Alter Bridge – In Loving Memory

Snow Patrol – Chasing Cars

Simple Plan – Untitled

Lifehouse – Broken

Foo Fighters – Home

Foo Fighters – My Hero (Acoustic)

Foo Fighters – Times Like These (Acoustic)

The Sound of Silence – Disturbed rendition

One thought on “Modern Memorial Songs

Leave a Reply

